Birkirkara Open 2023 | Finals


Yesterday marked the finals of the Birkirkara Open 2023, with the matches starting at 7 pm. The spectators were treated to an evening of great tennis as the players competed for the championship titles.

In the highly anticipated men’s singles final, Bas de Laat and Ernesto Pantua engaged in a back-and-forth battle on the court in windy conditions. Despite the result of 6-3, 6-3 in favor of de Laat, the match was filled with multiple back-and-forth rallies and intense exchanges. Both players showcased exceptional skills and determination. However, it was de Laat’s ability to maintain composure and make crucial shots that ultimately propelled him to victory. This victory holds special significance for de Laat, as it marks his first win in an open event after many years competing, showcasing his dedication to the sport.

In the ladies’ singles final, Emma Montebello demonstrated her top form, overpowering Betha Anne Mayo with an impressive score of 6-0, 6-1. Her exceptional performance highlighted her polished skills and solid preparation as she gears up for the upcoming GSSE tournament as part of #TeamMalta on May 29th.

After the matches concluded, a presentation was held. During the presentation, the President of the Malta Tennis Federation, David Farrugia Sacco, and Birkirkara Tennis Club Secretary, Eleno Mamo, addressed the crowd. Eleno Mamo acknowledged the sponsors of this tournament, √§lska and Kinder Sport, and expressed his remarks on the tournament’s success. President David Farrugia Sacco commended the remarkable efforts of the Birkirkara Tennis Club in hosting two successful open tournaments each year as well as their doubles open earlier this year. He acknowledged the unique challenge the club faced due to its limited number of courts and praised their exceptional organizational skills that made the events possible.

The Malta Tennis Federation extends its gratitude to the Birkirkara Tennis Club, Club Secretary Eleno Mamo, all the players, and spectators, as well as the tournament referee Lucienne Meli and the entire officiating staff, for their dedication in making the tournament a great success.

Well done to all the participants, including the champions Bas de Laat and Emma Montebello, for their impressive performances throughout the Birkirkara Open 2023.