Malta Tennis Federation- Annual General Meeting 2023


The Malta Tennis Federation held its annual general meeting yesterday at the Marsa Sports Club.

The President, Dr David Farrugia Sacco, highlighted the fact that the results and performances of our men’s and ladies teams made it a great year for our beloved sport.

Our men’s Davis Cup team made up of Matthew Asciak, Alex Degabriele, Liam Delicata and Dwayne Pullicino captained by Gordon Asciak gained promotion to GRP III. To achieve this they had to overcome the home nation, Azerbaijan, and the strong Icelandic team in the promotion play off.

The Ladies team comprised of Elaine Genovese, Francesca Curmi, Helene Pellicano and Emma Montebello captained by Daryl Delicata also gained promotion to GRP II after a strong showing in the BJK Cup held in Skopje, North Macedonia.

Another highly prestigious result was obtained during the very competitive Mediterranean Games held in Oran, Algeria. Here our ladies doubles partnership made up of the hugely experienced Elaine Genovese and rising star Francesca Curmi exceeded all expectations by winning the silver medal after beating the highly quoted Italians in the semi final and losing to the strong Spanish pairing. To put this feat into perspective this was the only medal won in any sport by the Maltese contingent.

At the end of the meeting the President awarded Mr Gordon Asciak, Mr Chris Gatt, Ms Helen Asciak and Ms Carol Cassar Torreggiani with a special memento for their considerable achievements and contributions to our sport as these former athletes were inducted in the MTF’s Hall of Fame.